St Paul's


The Church of Saint Paul Talbingo - Historical Account

Church services are held at 9.00am Sunday, with the exception of the third Sunday in the Month.

On the 5th of February 1965, the Snowy Mountains Hydro Electric Authority wrote to various churches indicating that a township, to be known as Talbingo, would be established to house the workforce constructing the Tumut 3 Project and that land sizes would be available for churches and other community buildings.

On the 25th of June 1965, a meeting took place at Blowering Dam to discuss the requirements for the church services at Blowering and later at Talbingo. From this meeting the churches considered that it was possible to coordinate the formation of a combined church at Talbingo.

In November 1965, a constitution was agreed to, by the authority as owners of the building and the three churches as users, and acceptance of this constitution was on the 13th of January 1966.

On the 29th of July 1966, the tender of D. and D. construction Pty Ltd Wagga Wagga was accepted and the church was completed on the 12th of April 1967, at a final cost of approximately $80,000.

The church was dedicated on the 23rd of April 1967 and the ceremony was unique in the history of churches in Australia when the three churches were required to combine in one acceptable dedication service, during which the commissioner, Sir William Hudson, read the petition and afterwards placed the keys, petition and deed on the altar for dedication by the three church dignitaries.

With the snowy mountains hydro electric authority withdrawing from the township of Talbingo and the transferring of the town to Tumut Shire in the near future and after discussions with the three churches, it was decided that an incorporated body would be acceptable.

On the 19th of February 1991, a certificate of incorporation was issued by the corporate affairs commission at Sydney to 'The Church of St. Paul Talbingo Incorporated', the members being -

* The bishop of the Anglican diocese of Canberra and Goulburn

* The archbishop of Roman Catholic Church of Canberra and Goulburn

* The moderator of the Uniting Church of Australia

* Trustees of the Roman Catholic Church of Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn.

* The Uniting Church of Australia Property Trust.

With the incorporation of 'The Church of St. Paul Talbingo Incorporated' being completed, the transfer of title could now proceed with the Snowy Mountains hydroelectric authority transferring the church and grounds for the nominal purchase price of $10.00, plus Solicitor's fees. This transaction was completed and the Land Titles Office issued the 'Certificate of Title' on the 21st of November 1991, to 'The Church of St. Paul Talbingo Incorporated'. Church services are held at 9.00am Sunday, with the exception of the third Sunday in the Month.

Source: Unknown - (Ref-

The Interdenominational Church Built by the Snowy Mountains Authority and with a superb view over the Jounama Pond, the Church of St Paul was the first Interdenominational church in Australia. Rumour has it that the SMA agreed to build one church in the new town thus forcing the local clergymen to come to a hasty compromise. The church was duly opened and dedicated on 23 April 1967 by a Church of England clergyman, a Roman Catholic priest and a Presbyterian minister. - the three denominations now share the facilities. - (Ref-

To Churches Index - To Blowering Index